My first game

How it started

As I mentioned in My programming story I made a game. Bad one of course, but from scratch, by myself. And it was a HUGE milestone to me. It was the time when I stopped copying the code from videos/articles and built something mine. It’s worth to notice that I was 13 years old while building this game.

What was it about?

It is a labyrinth game called Potato Labyrinth, where you move a guy that is a potato (literally) to find a way to the exit. But it isn’t all. There are “fancy” mechanics in it, like portals, gates and I even made a dark level, where you only can see a few meters away.

First level

Dark level

Building

I made this game using Unity game engine and C# programming language, It’s a really powerful piece of software. Here is a short snippet of the game code that is responsible for the pause menu:

public class PauseMenu : MonoBehaviour {
    public GameObject pauseMenu;
    public static bool pauseMenuActive = false;
    // Use this for initialization
    void Start()
    {
        pauseMenu.SetActive(false);
    }

    // Update is called once per frame
    void Update()
    {
        if (Input.GetKeyUp(KeyCode.Escape)&&pauseMenuActive == false)
        {
            pauseMenu.SetActive(true);
            pauseMenuActive = true;
        }
        else if (Input.GetKeyUp(KeyCode.Escape)&&pauseMenuActive==true)
        {
            pauseMenu.SetActive(false);
            pauseMenuActive = false;
        }    
    }
   public void BackToMenu()
    {
        SceneManager.LoadScene("Menu");
        Points.points = 0;
        LevelPointsRequired.activelvl = 1;
        pauseMenuActive = false;

    }
}

The code is terrible, as you can see, but it was my first true creation.

Summary

My first game was a bad one, but that’s okay! Everybody has to start somewhere, even a bad game like that is the next step for something better, bigger and more ambitious. I’ve decided to share this game if you want to check it out here.

Leave a comment